Americana Inspired Eats

photo (4)

Boston showing love.

Here at CWDD, we love all things American flag: running shorts, tank tops, the flag itself, and of course recipes that involve making delicious foods that look like the American flag.

Liz and I both spend a lot of our free time researching recipes, maybe too much time. We love a good challenging recipe that is also very eye-catching. The recipes that we have tried below hit both of those marks right on target.

I am sure many of you have seen this cake recipe on Pinterest before. I remember the first time I came across it, I racked my brain for any reason to make this cake, ANY reason at all. Then it hit me, I had a friend’s birthday coming up and he would love this sort of thing. It was the perfect opportunity. Even better was that I planned on making it a surprise, and I LOVE surprising people; and by love I mean my voice rises 2 octaves when I speak and I have no poker face, they always know that something is coming, so I am obnoxious about them. 🙂

So here I was, one Saturday morning, attempting this multi-layer flag cake. I am not even going to get into the sheer mechanics of this recipe because the actual recipe linked above does a fantastic job of it. I will tell you, for those of you like me who don’t bake a lot or don’t own a lot of circle cake pans, this recipe is a little time consuming. Totally worth it though, don’t get me wrong. I think that what makes this recipe so worth it is the fact that no one but you knows that when you cut into the cake there is an American Flag inside, which only fuels my love of surprising people!

photo (3)

Looks delicious on the oustide…

photo (2)

AND on the inside.

This cake would be perfect for Labor Day, 4th of July, Flag Day, Memorial Day or really any day you want to celebrate! Just get ready to bask in all the attention you will get from people who are so impressed with your baking skills!!

If you look at the texts between Amanda and I, most of them are either, “oh man, look at what I made” or “oh man, check out this blog”. Amanda recently texted me a recipe that will soon be featured on CWDD but I also happened to browse through the blog it came from to see what other recipes I might be interested in trying. Well, I found this. Yes, that is an American flag made with bacon and potatoes. I immediately texted my brother and informed him we would definitely be making it during our family beach weekend and of course, he was all for it. I omitted the Alfredo sauce and mozzarella and instead crumbled goat cheese all over the pizza dough. Next time (of course there will be a next time), I plan on using two logs of goat cheese or one of those massive ones you can get at Costco. One and a half logs: definitely not enough. Oh and you have to cook the bacon in the oven or else it will curl up and not work as the stripes. We had it with brunch because why not? God bless the USA.

I salute you

I salute you

Leave a Reply

