Goat Cheese Quiche+Hash Brown Crust

IMG_6472

Delicious.

Well, here we are again, it’s Monday people! For all my fellow foodies, I am sure you have seen this Meatless Monday trend that’s been flying around. I never put too much thought in it because 75% of the time I lean towards vegetarian recipes. Unless, someone wants to come cook for me and then I will gladly eat whatever they make, I am no picky eater that’s for sure.

Now this recipe I have had my eye on for some time now. I found it on Pinterest, and it’s from one of my favorite chefs, Martha Stewart. I don’t care what that lady did to put herself in jail, but she can COOK. I love watching her cooking shows on PBS. The woman has talent and her recipes are always awesome (albeit normally dairy filled so there is usually some tweaks).

So let’s get started on this super easy quiche recipe.

What you’ll need:

  • 2 tablespoons of softened butter
  • 1 package (1 pound) frozen hash brown potatoes, thawed (I used Alexa brand, they contained garlic and onion in them already, less work, don’t judge)
  • 12 eggs
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1-1/2 cups of silken tofu
  • 4 ounces of goat cheese for normal people (8 ounces for myself and fellow goat cheese lovers)
  • 4 scallions, chopped

Original recipe found here.

So this recipe is really very simple, the worst part was waiting for the damn thing to cook. ANY WAY, moving on.

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

Next butter your spring form pan. Now I know what you are thinking: What if I don’t have a spring form pan? What is a spring form pan? Not important, if you don’t have one, grab a casserole dish. Preferably a circle or oval shaped casserole dish so that the egg mixture cooks evenly.

Take your thawed hash browns and remove all the excess moisture. I rang them out using a paper towel… more like multiple paper towels.

Add your hash browns to a bowl and mix in 1 egg, 2 tablespoons of softened butter, 1 teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper. Now I bought my hash browns already mixed with garlic and onion, some people like their hash browns plain, either will work. Take that mixture and pat it into the bottom and sides of the pan to form the crust. Be careful not to make it too thick or they won’t crisp up enough.

Now if you are using a casserole dish, you can skip this step; if you are using a spring form, since the pan is not completely sealed please make sure and place it on a rimmed baking sheet. Just in case anything were to leak or spill.

Put the hash brown crust into the oven and bake for about 20 minutes. I kept mine in there closer to 30 because I like my hash browns a little crispier.

While the crust is cooking away, assemble the filling. The original recipe calls for sour cream but since cow dairy and I are not BFFs, I decided to substitute the sour cream for silken tofu. I used a blender for this to really get the filling creamy. Place 11 eggs, 4 ounces of room temperature goat cheese, 1-1/2 cups of silken tofu (almost a whole package), 1-1/2 teaspoons of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper into the blender and blend until smooth. Then since I LOVE goat cheese, I crumbled in another 4 ounces, but didn’t blend those. I wanted pieces of smooth goat cheese mixed in with the yummy egg.

When the crust is done, pour the egg mixture into the pan and top with chopped scallions. Place back in the oven for approximately 40 minutes.

The quiche should give a little when it’s done. It shouldn’t be too firm and it shouldn’t be runny still. I treated it similar to a cake, so I used a toothpick and checked the center. If the toothpick comes out clean, you’re done!

Unmold the quiche from the spring form pan, cut yourself a big slice and ENJOY!

IMG_6471

Perfect Meatless Monday!

Now, I just ate the quiche by itself but this would be totally perfect with a small mixed green simple salad as well!

-Amanda

One thought on “Goat Cheese Quiche+Hash Brown Crust

Leave a Reply

