BBQ Shrimp+Grits

IMG_6023

Holy Shrimp+Grits.

Hellooooo! I feel like it has been forever since my last post. Life has been, for lack of a better word, BUSY. Cooking is one thing I never stop doing, no matter how busy I get. So, don’t worry I have a lot of recipes saved up for y’all.

So, for anyone who knows me knows that I have a deep, deep love for Shrimp+Grits. I will take them any way I can get them. I especially love trying new flavor combinations. To be honest, I don’t even think I have ever had bad Shrimp+Grits. I don’t even think such a thing exists. Bad Shrimp+Grits?? Blasphemy.

This recipe for Shrimp+Grits came from multiple places. I follow several, okay, A LOT of local magazines and restaurants on instagram and twitter. One day, one of them posted a picture of BBQ Shrimp and because of my obsession I automatically added +Grits to the end, and here we are.

I was lucky enough to be able to test this recipe out on my fantastic friends Daniel+Ashley, and judging by their reactions and empty bowls I think we have a winner!

What you’ll need:

Makes 3-4 servings

  • 4 ounce log of goat cheese
  • 2 sticks + 2 tablespoons of unsalted butter
  • grits (I use quick cooking grits, use your favorite)
  • 1-1/2 pounds of shrimp
  • 1/2 pound of bacon
  • 1/2 cup of chardonnay
  • scallions
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon white pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 8 cloves of garlic
  • 2 teaspoons worcestershire sauce
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons tabasco (or your favorite hot sauce)
  •  1 teaspoon water

Now first things first, this recipe contains a fantastic BBQ butter in which the shrimp will cook. I found the recipe via pinterest (found here) and it is TOTALLY worth it. I have now begun to imagine all the other recipes I can use the butter in. BUT ANY WAY, we will need to start there first because it will need to firm up in the fridge. You can use a bowl and a spatula, or fork or whatever tool you want to mix this butter, I used a tiny food processor and it worked great.

Place 2 sticks of room temperature butter (save the other 2 tablespoons for later) in the bowl with the white pepper, cayenne pepper, paprika, dried rosemary, garlic, worcestershire sauce, hot sauce and water, also add in 1 teaspoon of salt. Pulse/mix the butter until it is all incorporated. It will turn a pretty orange color and smell awesome.

IMG_6008

A whole lot of butter and garlic.

IMG_6011

YUM. BBQ butter.

Now take the BBQ butter and scrape it into a bowl, cover and place in the fridge for about 30 mins so it can firm up.

Next comes the bacon. Take the 1/2 pound of bacon, roughly chop it and throw it into a pan, season with black pepper, and saute until crispy. Remove the bacon with a slotted spoon and place on a paper towel to cool.

IMG_6012

Mmmmm. Bacon.

MAKE SURE AND SAVE 1 TABLESPOON OF BACON GREASE. This recipe is not low fat, if you couldn’t tell already. 🙂

Take your lovely saved bacon grease and make sure it’s over medium heat. Add your peeled and de-veined shrimp, season with salt and pepper and saute the shrimp about a minute each side. At this point, add roughly a handful of chopped scallions and cook another minute.

photo (1)

Lovely little shrimp.

Next add the 1/2 cup of chardonnay and reduce it, about half way. That should take about 3-5 mins. Once it reduces, add your entire bowl of BBQ butter. Yup, the whole thing. Reduce again for about another minute, than turn off the heat and let your sauce and shrimp just sit together.

IMG_6015

Resist the urge to eat.

While your BBQ shrimp is sittin’ pretty, get your grits cooking. I just followed the recipe on my box for 6 servings since I like a lot of grits with my shrimp, you can use less if it’s not your favorite thing in the world.

IMG_6016

Nom. Nom. Nom.

While your grits are cooking, take 2 tablespoons of cracked black pepper and place on a plate. Then take your 4 ounce goat cheese log and roll it in the black pepper.

IMG_6019

I promise this step is worth it.

When your grits are done, add in the remaining 2 tablespoons of butter, and salt+pepper to taste. Now it’s time to assemble your dish!!

Place a heaping spoonful of grits in a bowl, top with another heaping spoonful of shrimp, drizzle some of the BBQ butter on top (you better not leave it in the pan), next add a handful of bacon, and crumble your black pepper goat cheese on top. And that’s it. Fantastic shrimp+grits!!

IMG_6023

SO. GOOD.

Y’all enjoy!!

-Amanda

3 thoughts on “BBQ Shrimp+Grits

  1. Pingback: Vegetarian Grilling Menu | Champagne Wishes & Delicious Dishes

Leave a Reply

