Spaghetti with Artichokes & Chicken

Photo Jun 04, 6 13 06 PM

Not only is this our first pasta post but also, our first post that involves carbs. Who knew Amanda and I were such low carb recipe lovers? Anyway, I love Saveur magazine and will occasionally buy it when I see it but am always checking out the website. Many a recipe I’ve cooked has come from them, just like this one.

Yes this recipe calls for chicken thighs and not chicken breasts. I totally get it if you aren’t into that idea but trust me when I say it makes a HUGE difference flavor wise. Trimming baby artichokes is time consuming and a pain, I know from when I had my sister do it once (love you sister!). I recommend buying a box of frozen artichoke hearts and defrosting them. Also, my grocery store didn’t have fresh tarragon so I used dried rosemary, oregano, and thyme as well as added some more tomato paste and used white wine I had in my fridge rather than purchasing white wine vinegar. Oh, and I couldn’t find dried mushrooms so I went with some baby portobellos. Lastly, I am all about a one pot meal so I threw my pasta into my sauce pot to cook. Recipe time!

Spaghetti with Artichokes & Chicken

1 package of frozen artichoke hearts
3 tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil
5 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
6 ounces of baby port0bello mushrooms, chopped
2 small carrots, finely chopped
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper,
to taste
3 boneless, skinless chicken thighs (about 1 lb.),
cut into 1″ chunks
1 tbsp. tomato paste
1⁄4 cup white wine
2 tsp dried oregano
2 tsp dried thyme
2 tsp dried rosemary
3 cups chicken broth
1 lb. dried spaghetti

Everything you will need.

Everything you will need.

Heat the oil in a dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add the garlic, mushrooms, and carrots and cook, stirring frequently, until soft, about 8 minutes.

Super important to not burn this part.

Super important to not burn this part.

Season the chicken with salt and pepper. Increase heat to high and add the chicken and tomato paste; cook, stirring occasionally, until chicken is lightly browned, about 6 minutes.

Add the white wine and cook, stirring constantly, until liquid has evaporated, about 1 minute. Drain the artichokes and add them, along with dried herbs and the chicken broth, to the pot.

Artichokes, chicken, and stuff right before the wine goes in.

Artichokes, chicken, and stuff right before the broth goes in.

Bring broth to a boil and reduce heat to medium-low. Simmer until chicken and artichokes are very tender and the broth has reduced by half, about 40 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

Simmer time

Simmer time

Add your pasta of choice, stir it around, add some more salt (pasta loves salt) and pepper then cover for 8-10 minutes. I went with whole wheat spaghetti because I try to make healthy choices when it comes to pasta.

Pasta at first.

Pasta at first.

Photo Jun 04, 6 13 06 PM

Pasta once it is ready to eat.

Taste for seasoning, add salt and pepper if necessary then eat!

Spaghetti with Chicken & Artichokes

Look at that beauty! Tastes great too.

-Liz

Leave a Reply

